The Film & Television Charity provides support and financial assistance to people who work in the UK Film and TV industries. 

The charity’s dynamic support is offered to industry people who are facing personal and career challenges, some of which may include: illness, injury, unemployment, redundancy, relationship breakdown, mental health issues, bereavement, care in later life or financial worries.

The Charity also has a successful travel and subsistence scheme, family support fund for returnees to work and a growing talent development programme. The John Brabourne Awards, for example, provide a stepping stone for individuals who are talented and driven, but who have faced hurdles in their career.

The current Trustee Board numbers eight Trustees with a broad range of business experience drawn from all facets of the Film and TV industries and beyond. The Trustees hold four meetings each calendar year. The Trustees elect a President, currently John Pike, for a three-year term who acts as Chair of the Board at meetings.

To enable the Trustees to manage The Film & Television Charity effectively, three committees have been established to oversee, offer advice, and act on behalf of the Board of Trustees on particular aspects of the work of the charity. The current committees have the full authority of The Film & Television Charity, acting as a liaison between the Board and the Chief Executive, and report back to the full Board at the quarterly Trustee meetings and cover the following disciplines:

  • Commercial
  • Support
  • Finance & Investment

The Charity was established in 1924 as the Cinematograph Trade Benevolent Fund, changing its name to the Cinema and Television Benevolent Fund in 1964 and in February 2018 it changed its name to The Film & Television Charity.

Incorporated as a company registered in England and Wales limited by guarantee on 1 April 2004, The Film & Television Charity is a registered charity with the Charity Commission no. 1099660 and is governed by its Articles of Association which were updated and approved by members in February 2015.

Our Patron is Her Majesty the Queen and our Vice Patrons include: Barbara Broccoli OBE, Sir Paul Fox CBE, Lord Grade CBE, David McCall CBE DL, Sir Alan Parker CBE, Lord Puttnam CBE, Sir Sydney Samuelson CBE, Jeremy Thomas CBE, Michael G Wilson OBE.